Monday, April 21, 2008

Emperor-Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk (1997)

Absolutely magnificent second full-length from Norway's Emperor. Here, they took the formula from "Nightside", and improved upon greatly, creating a swirling, dizzying, beautiful, epic masterpiece. More clean vocals abound, and the songs seem both more concise, yet at the same time, more chaotic and hateful. And of course, there are the absolutely splendid synth lines underlying the entire album, and an amazing performance from then-new drummer, Trym. Everyone should already own this, but if you don't here's your chance. Necessary! Candlelight Records. 

1. Alsvartr (The Oath)  4:18
2. Ye Entrancemperium  5:15
3. Thus Spake the Nightspirit  4:30
4. Ensorcelled by Khaos  6:39
5. The Loss and Curse of Reverence  6:10
6. The Acclamation of Bonds  5:54
7. With Strength I Burn  8:17
8. The Wanderer  2:55

Total Running:  43:58


No comments: