Saturday, April 5, 2008

Viikate-Vuoden Synkin Juhla (2001)

Second album from Finland's masters of melancholic folk-rock. This album is actually a Christmas album, with Viikate's take on many traditional Finnish Christmas songs. The title "Vuoden Synkin Juhla" translates to "Gloomiest Celebration of the Year", so that should give you an idea of what to expect. Ranka Recordings. 

1. Sylvian Joululaulu  3:28
2. Talvi Se Viimein  3:43
3. Aattoiltana  3:34
4. Varpunen Jouluaamuna  3:28
5. Viattomien Lasten Päivä  3:24
6. Lahja  4:07
7. Suojelusenkeli  3:05
8. Häpeän Lyhty  4:09
9. Olkoon Näin  2:40
10. Vuoden Synkin Juhla  3:18

Total Running:  34:51

Suomen Tasavalta

1 comment:

A said...

Man, thanks so much for uploading this album! I fell in love with Viikate, but I have found no where to buy their older albums, so I have been trying to find them for download. Great blog also.