Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Opeth-My Arms, Your Hearse (1998)

Third album from Sweden's progressive death metal monsters, Opeth. This album sees the addition of Martin Lopez on the drums, although he doesn't start to really shine until the following album, Still Life. But nonetheless, this album is spectacular in it's own right; it has a slightly harder, more brutal edge (some may say it is a darker album) to it than the previous albums, with more concise songs, with more of a focus on making everything fluid and flowing. One could say this is the where the transitions that became very apparent in Still Life, started here. But fear not, there is still heavy juxtaposition of heavy and delicate, quiet parts, creating an overall wonderful album. Highly recommended! Candlelight Records. 

1. Prologue  0:59
2. April Ethereal  8:41
3. When  9:15
4. Madrigal  1:25
5. The Amen Corner  8:44
6. Demon of the Fall  6:13
7. Credence  5:27
8. Karma  7:52
9. Epilogue  4:00
10. Circle of the Tyrants (Celtic Frost cover)  5:12
11. Remember Tomorrow (Iron Maiden cover)  5:00

Total Running:  1:02:58


No comments: