Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Opeth-Watershed (2008)

If you're like myself and many Opeth fans, you worried about what Martin Lopez' departure from the band would mean in terms of sound. He was an absolutely amazing, multi-talented percussionist, and a damn hard vacancy to fill. But on this album, the void has been filled by Martin Axenrot of Nifelheim/Witchery fame, and let me be the first to tell you, if there's one person who can live up to Lopez' drumming, it is Axenrot. He adds a harder edge to Opeth's music (even blastbeats!!), but is still just as versatile and talented as the departed Lopez. As far as music overall, this album is absolutely a thrill to listen to. Easily some of the heaviest material Opeth has ever written, but still with Opeth's progressive flare (complete with both heavy and light sections. Per Wiberg really shines on this album, his keys adding an amazing dynamic to the music. Also new on this album is the addition of Fredrik Åkesson on guitar, and he fills the departed Peter's shoes amazingly. I HIGHLY recommend this album...i've been listening to is almost constantly since I got it. Roadrunner Records. 

1. Coil  3:07
2. Heir Apparent  8:51
3. The Lotus Eater  8:48
4. Burden  7:42
5. Porcelain Heart  8:01
6. Hessian Peel  11:26
7. Hex Omega  6:59

Total Running:  54:54


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Artist: Opeth
Album: Watershed [Special Edition]
Year: 2008
Genre: Progressive Death metal
Country: Sweden
Format: mp3@CBR192kbps
Size: 105MB

Track listing:
1. "Coil" - 3:07
2. "Heir Apparent" - 8:51
3. "The Lotus Eater" - 8:51
4. "Burden" - 7:42
5. "Porcelain Heart" - 8:01
6. "Hessian Peel" - 11:26
7. "Hex Omega" - 6:59
8. "Derelict Herds" (Åkerfeldt, Wiberg) - 6:28
9. "Bridge of Sighs" (Robin Trower cover) – 5:55
10. "Den Ständiga Resan" (Marie Fredriksson cover) – 4:09
11. "Mellotron Heart" - 5:28

Total playing time: 1:16:55